Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board

The Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board is a student-run, honorary organization that focuses on recruiting and training the finest oral and written advocates in the country and is the oldest, largest, and most prestigious advocacy program at the University of Miami School of Law. The Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board is now ranked the 3rd best Moot Court program in the nation, #1 on the East Coast, and #1 in Florida. This is the highest ranking in our moot court program's 70-year history! 

The Moot Court Board was founded in 1953. Named in 2006 for the fifty-five-year member of the Florida Bar, former member of the Florida Legislature, and true “lawyer’s lawyer,” the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board is committed to fostering and honing those qualities that its namesake represents: skill, passion, and excellence in advocacy. With the support of the University of Miami School of Law as well as alumni, judges and practitioners, the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board strives to impart those skills on its current and future members through this unique program and incredible opportunity.

The Moot Court Board is grateful to these dedicated alumni, judges, practitioners and faculty who volunteer their time coaching and mooting our student teams. We thank them for their invaluable knowledge, experience and commitment.

Read All Papy Moot Court News

John T. Gaubatz Moot Court Competition

The Gaubatz competition is the main moot court contest at Miami Law used to select the top twenty-five advocates for the Charles C. Papy Moot Court Board based on performance. Competitors argue their respective positions in front of three very distinguished judges. 

Gaubatz Fall 2023 Information

Information Session: Wednesday, August 23, 2023 at 12:30 pm
Brief Writing Workshop: Friday, August 25, 2023 at 1:00 pm
Registration Deadline: Sunday, August 27, 2023 at 5:00 pm
Problem Release Date: Tuesday, August 29, 2023
Brief Submission Deadline: Sunday, September 24, 2023 at 5:00 pm
Oral Argument Workshop: Tuesday, October 3, 2023 at 12:30 pm
Oral Arguments: Saturday and Sunday, October 14-15, 2023
Final Round: Tuesday, October 17, 2023

How to Join

Application to the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board is open to second- and third-year students of the University of Miami School of Law who have demonstrated excellence in written and oral advocacy. Each fall semester, the Board hosts the John T. Gaubatz Competition to determine the incoming class of moot court board candidates. Participation in the Gaubatz Competition is open to those University of Miami School of Law students who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 2.8 or higher for second-year (2Ls) students or 3.0 or higher for third-year students (3Ls) by the registration deadline. Membership is then extended to the top 25 second-year law students as well as to those third-year law students who rank in the top 25 competitors overall.

The Gaubatz Competition is comprised of both a written and an oral component. Competitors register in pairs, file an appellate brief, and argue in at least two oral rounds. The top sixteen, two-person teams go on to compete in a single-elimination, bracketed competition, which culminates in a final, evening round that is open to all competitors, students, professors, alumni, and the general public.

2023-24 Moot Court Executive Board

William Brandyburg


Kelsey McCarty

Executive Vice-President  

Bari Steel

Vice-President, Inter-school  

Gisell Landrian

Vice-President, Gaubatz Competition  

Carly Herskowitz

Vice-President, Alumni & Public Relations   

Brandon Shinder

Vice-President, Appellate Advocacy I  

Thomas Webb

Vice-President, Appellate Advocacy II  

Ashley Knoblauch

Vice-President, CKP Competition  

2022-23 Moot Court Executive Board and Members

Open All Tabs
  • Executive Board and Members

    Executive Board

    Baily Beauchamp, President
    Matthew Shalna, Executive Vice-President
    Bailey Pasho-Towns, Vice-President, Inter-School
    Jacob Niergarth, Vice-President, Gaubatz Competition
    Miguel E. Del Rivero, Vice-President, Alumni & Public Relations
    Mary Vollmar, Vice-President, Appellate Advoccy I
    Joshue Schulster, Vice-President, Appellate Advocacy II
    Lauren O'Neil, Vice-President, CKP Competition


    Abigail Young
    Andres Hidalgo
    Bailey Beauchamp
    Bailey Pasho-Towns
    Benjamin Brooks
    Diego Rosette
    Erica Adams
    Evan Gilbert
    Haneefah Saleem
    Isabella DelPino
    Jaclyn Sanchez
    Jacob Niergarth
    Jessica Nunez Munoz
    Jessica Palma
    Joshua Schulster
    Krystal McCollin
    Lauren O'Neil
    Mackenzie Payton Skeens
    Mary Vollmar
    Matthew Shalna
    Miguel E. Del Rivero
    Robert Keilson
    Savannah Valentine
    Sydney Alonso
    Taylor Rich
    Ashley Knoblauch
    Alexis Masciarella
    Amanda Rosenberg
    Austin Edwards
    Bari Steel
    Brandon Shinder
    Caleb Liberman
    Cameron Gittler
    Carly Herskowitz
    Destini Fernandez
    Ethan Arrington
    Gabrielle Argimon
    Gabriella Pinzon
    Gisell Landrian
    Grace Castillo
    Joely Arai
    Kelsey McCarty
    Marina Rubio
    Mitchell Koch
    Sarah Boger
    Sierra Epke
    Taylor Evans
    Thomas Armiger
    William Brandyburg
    Zachary Kaufman
    Zachary Sherman
    Thomas Webb



What We Do

Each year, the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board sends its members across the nation to compete against top law schools in a variety of competitions. In the past years, members have competed in competitions against dozens of law schools across the nation.

Open All Tabs


Other Ways to Get Involved

If you would like to volunteer to judge practice rounds, help prepare us for our national competitions, or otherwise support the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board, email us at To stay up to date, be sure to follow us on Instagram and LinkedIn